Have an account?

Friday, April 2, 2010

CFDA Announces Nominees

Last week held a lot of news for the Council of Fashion Designers of America. First, Diane Von Furstenburg was elected president for a third time (a first for the organization). Second, the designer held a soiree at her studio to announce the nominees for the CFDA awards.

Prabal Garung, Joseph Altuzarra and Michelle Obama favorite, Jason Wu were nominated for the Swarovski Award for emerging talent in Womenswear. Marc Jacobs, Donna Karan and Alexander Wang are competing against each other for Designer of the Year. For accessory design, nominees include Alexis Bittar, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.

Project Runway’s staple, Michael Kors will be receiving the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement award. The awards will take place at Lincoln Center June 7 in NYC.

1 comment:

Andy said...

Hopefully Marc Jacobs comes out victorious.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Site Meter